SPONSORED CONTENT

Federal Budget extension to depreciating assets

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

THE Treasurer delivered the Federal Budget on Tuesday 11 May 2021.

Temporary full expensing of depreciating assets will be extended for an additional 12 months until 30 June 2023, allowing businesses to deduct the full cost of eligible depreciable assets acquired from 6 October 2020 and first used or installed ready for use by 30 June 2023.

  • Owners should be preparing detailed listing of depreciating assets as part of the tender process thus capturing more detail and potentially more write offs at the time of completion. A detailed analysis of variations that may have happened should pick up the rest of the write offs at completion of the project.
  • There is opportunity to bring “forward” capital projects for refurbishments and upgrades.
  • Any projects that are on the drawing board at this time (for investment not trading stock) and potentially due for completion by June 23 should capture the potential write off amounts for their feasibility calculations. The cash flow benefit will significantly increase as a result of the write offs.

We at N&B are here to help.  Please do not hesitate to contact one of our trusted advisors for further assistance.

MELBOURNE
Rob Howells, Managing Director  |  0437 649 082  |  rhowells@napierblakeley.com
Craig Smith, Director |  0407 371 664  |  csmith@napierblakeley.com
John Mathew, Director  |  0414 559 326  |  jmathew@napierblakeley.com
Ian Gardner, Associate Director  |  0488 225 569  |  igardner@napierblakeley.com

SYDNEY
Alastair Walker, Director  |  0419 503 289  |  awalker@napierblakeley.com
Peter Hammond, Director  |  0419 980 901  |  phammond@napierblakeley.com
Peter Osborn, Director  |  0439 765 571  |  posborn@napierblakeley.com
Stephen Cooke, Associate Director  |  0409 228 552  |  scooke@napierblakeley.com

BRISBANE
Adam Greene, Associate Director  |  0409 724 395  |  agreene@napierblakeley.com
Paul Cosker, Associate Director  |  0434 400 107  |  pcosker@napierblakeley.com
Gavin Peach, Associate Director  |  0412 225 781  |  gpeach@napierblakeley.com
KY Pih, Associate  |  0408 933 660  |  kpih@napierblakeley.com

PERTH
Graham Rigby, Associate Director  |  0419 847 998  |  grigby@napierblakeley.com
Jorden Morris, Quantity Surveyor  |  0457 001 545  |  jmorris@napierblakeley.com

Sponsored editorial

Related posts
GENERAL PROPERTY

QLD budget pledges $2.9bn landmark housing investment

THE Queensland government will invest a record $2.9 billion including $1 billion for a new Housing…
Read more
SPONSORED CONTENT

Napier & Blakeley supports The Property Industry Foundation in the Brisbane Charity Sailing Cup

THE Property Industry Foundation in Queensland held its 2021 Charity Regatta at the Royal Queensland…
Read more
CORONAVIRUS COVID-19 PANDEMICGENERAL PROPERTYRESIDENTIAL PROPERTY

Property boom to deliver $64bn in tax revenue

VICTORIA’S property market has bounced back strongly following last year’s lockdown, which is…
Read more